01803 311253

Tap To Call
Home » Latest News » Annual Prize Giving

Annual Prize Giving

Welcome to our Babbacombe Prize Giving…

What a great turn out we had for our Annual Prize Giving where sailors and volunteers came together to celebrate the end of another sailing season.

2018 has been a busy year! Although we had the occasional challenge with either too little or too much wind, there has been more sailing sessions than ever before. Kicking off in March, we ran an extensive training programme with more people qualifying as Power Boat drivers or RYA Level 1, 2, 3 & 4 sailors than previous years. We also had time to train two sailors up to Assistant Instructor! For a second year we provided social sailing and Friday night RYA OnBoard junior sessions which was well attended and a great success.

Prize Giving is not just about our sailors. None of the sailing offered at BCSC would happen if it was not for the mass of dedicated volunteers who support us. Each session needs four safety boaters, race officer, beach masters, registrars as well as instructors for training. A massive thank you to you all.

A special mention must also go to our new trainee sailors who have come down and attended our sailing sessions.  You may not have been fortunate enough to pick up a trophy this year, but I am sure with some more practise you will be picking up an award this time next year.

All winner photos are displayed in our gallery. Click for more photos

Well done to all our winners

Sailing Series & Trophy Races

Spring Trophy Race

  • Mixed Fleet – Charles Dear Trophy – Sarah Probert

Tuesday Early Spring Series

  • Mixed Fleet –  Kayley Cup – John Bush
  • Tasar Fleet – President’s Quaiche – Neil Spacagna/Steve Eustice
  • Cadet Fleet – Fireball Crew Cup – Faye Chorlton

Sunday Early Summer Series

  • Mixed Fleet – Victory Galleon – John Bush
  • Tasar Fleet – Freeman Trophy – Dom/Liam Jennings

Sunday Early Summer Trophy

  • Mixed Fleet – Thomas Cup – Matt Frettsome
  • Pico Fleet – George Gill Cup – John Bush

Tuesday Early Summer Series

  • Mixed Fleet – Nostir Trophy – Stuart Moon
  • Tasar Fleet – Typhoon Cup – John Lawton/ Paul Little
  • Cadet Fleet – Denys Phillips Shield – Sarah Probert

Tuesday Late Summer Trophy

  • Mixed Fleet – Monson Trophy – Joe Farwell
  • Tasar Fleet – Norman Gill Trophy – Neil Spacagna /Steve Eustice
  • Best Pico – Commodore Trophy – Matt Frettsome

Tuesday Late Summer Series

  • Mixed Fleet – Rose Bowl – John Mitchell
  • Tasar Fleet – President’s Cup – Neil Spacagna/Steve Eustice

Tuesday Early Summer Trophy

  • Mixed Fleet – Kent Memorial Trophy – Joe Farwell

Sunday Late Summer Series

  • Mixed Fleet – Solitaire Trophy – Guy H / Katrina Winter/  Stevie Cuff
  • Cadet Fleet – Fabiola Cup – John Bush

Tuesday Autumn Series

  • Tasar Fleet – John Turner Cup – Neil Spacagna/Steve Eustice
  • Mixed Fleet – Peter Powell Trophy – John Bush
  • Cadet Fleet – Fox Cup (Novices) – Bryony Williams

Picnic Trophy Race

  • Gwen Flower Trophy – John bush

Twilight Trophy Race

  • Mixed Fleet – Hunt Memorial Trophy – John Bush
  • Cadet Fleet – Bradbury Cup – Katrina Winter/ Callie Freer

Sunday Autumn Series

  • Cadet Fleet – Davis Cup – John Bush

Special Prizes

  • Most Improved Crew -Crew’s Prize – Liam Jennings
  • Most Improved Junior Helm – Community Shield – Katrina Winter
  • Most Improved Singlehander – John & Josie Trophy – Patricia Mander
  • Best Turnout – Sam Peters Salver – John Mitchell
  • Outstanding New Sailor 2018  – Principle Trophy – Stevie Cuff
  • Special Achievement Award –  Mayeress Salva – Sarah Probert

Safety Boat Support Award

  • Silver Rib Trophy – Alan Horner
  • Big thank you to all our 2018 Safety Boaters

2018 Trainees

RYA Stage 1 Junior
  • Michael Jamous , Lucy Fenner , Ben Woodward , Jonathan Woodward , Jonjo van Martins , Jas Targowski, Kuba Targowski & Edward Fogarty.
RYA Stage 2 Junior
  • Stevie Cuff, Katrina Winter & Liam Jennings
RYA Level 2
  • Paul Little , John Bush, Jim Holgate, Matt Frettsome, Roger Allen, Sam Crane, Mark Hingston, Patricia Mander, Jayne Orme, Adam Parkes, Bryony Williams & Callie Freer
RYA Advance Module & Assistant Instructor
  • Sarah Probert & Steve Norman
RYA Powerboat Level 2
  • Glenn Norris, Paul Little Peter Pfeiffer, Henry Willis, Neil Mander ,Chris Stephens, Maceij Targowski, Alex Morgan, Mark Hingston & Sue Bailey
RYA First Aid Course & Renewals
  • Dom Jennings, Stuart Saunders, John Mitchell, Sarah Probert, Alan Horner, Connie Hamilton, John Haywood, Cathy Gillard, Mark Hingston, Julie Hingston, Guy Hester, Neil Mander
Race Officer Training
  • Jan Hester, Stuart Saunders, Adrian Mark, Steve Norman, John Mitchell, Guy Hester, Neil Mander, Alan Horner, Jim Horner, Andy Probert

Special Mention to all our volunteers!

  • Sailing Support Team,  including Race Officers, Safety Boat Drivers, Beachmasters, Registrars and Galley:-

  • Instructors

Guy Hester, Andrew Probert, Andrew Chorlton, John Lawton, Roger Southcombe, Cathy Gillard, Neil Spacagna and Lizzie Bull. Assistant Instructors Sarah Probert and Steve Norman.

  • Volunteer of the Year Award

It is not usual we single out individual volunteers because we have some many helpers in both the top and bottom clubhouses who each give such alot of time to the club. We felt, however, it was fitting to give a special mention to Karin. Karin really is an all-rounder who even at short notice will jump in to volunteer. It does not matter if it is registrar, beachmaster, safety boat, galley, helping in the top clubhouse with bar and social events or even watering all the plants, she gives a huge amount of time to our club. A BIG thank you Karin.


If you would like to see more pictures from prize giving, please look in the gallery. Special thank you to Paul Levie for Cary Park Tennis Club for being our official photographer for the night. I am sure Paul will not mind you saving any of the award photos.